#AnimangaMonday: Silver Spoon (Gin no Saji)

It is no secret to anyone that I am one big anime nerd (literally and figuratively) so I figured I should post a thing or two about this little hobby of mine. Ever since I decided to go back into blogging, I had been thinking on what otaku-related content should I be posting. I considered doing an anime review blog segment but it looks impossible with my current working schedule and all the things I have to do in between. And then it hit me! Since I contribute some weekly content to the Anime_HQ’s Facebook page, it wouldn’t hurt to cross-post some of them here.

And so, why don’t we start on my favorite anime series this season – Silver Spoon  (Gin no Saji).

Image

Silver Spoon (Gin no Saji) is a Japanese manga series written and illustrated by Hiromu Arakawa. Influenced by Arakawa’s own life experience as she was raised in a dairy farm in Hokkaido, the manga was launched on the 19th issue of Shogakukan’s Weekly Shonen Sunday magazine on April 2011.

It depicts the daily life of Yugo Hachiken, a student from Sapporo who enrolled into Yezo Agricultural High School in Hokkaido in an attempt to flee from the high demands of his strict father. Believing that any school will be a breeze given his talent for studying, he soon learns that life on an agricultural school is very much different from his former school in the city.

Its anime adaptation, produced by A-1 Pictures, first aired on July 2013 at Fuji TV’s noitaminA block and recently ended with its 11th episode last September 20. Its second season is expected to air on January 2014 while a live-action movie adaptation will open in Japanese theaters by Spring 2014.

Being a slice-of-life type of anime, Silver Spoon is a total deviation from Arakawa’s most famous work – Fullmetal Alchemist. While it lacks all the shonen elements that made FMA successful, it did not fall short on interesting characters, which I guess is the strength of this series. I find it easy to relate with every character, along with their strengths and weakness, pride and insecurities, happiness and dilemma. And I empathize with Hachiken the most, especially the bit about not having a specific dream to work hard for.

Related Anime_HQ posts:

Leave a Reply

